# SUTHERLAND

### LEGAL ALERT

May 27, 2010

## Senate Financial Reform Bill Containing Approved Amendments Released; Members of Conference Committee Named

A comprehensive version of the Restoring American Financial Stability Act of 2010 (Senate Bill) passed by the Senate on May 20, 2010 has been released, which incorporates all of the approved amendments into the text of the bill, including those revised on the floor during debate. The updated derivatives title of the Senate Bill is available <a href="here">here</a>. Additionally, we have prepared a revised <a href="chart">chart</a> with section references to the updated Senate Bill, which compares the Senate Bill with the bill passed by the House (H.R. 4173) and the Administration's original proposal for derivatives regulation.

Congressional leaders have released a tentative timeline indicating that the reconciliation conference for financial regulatory reform legislation will begin the week of June 7, 2010, with the goal of having a final Bill ready for the President's signature by the July 4<sup>th</sup> recess. The finalized list of Senators taking part in the conference, as well as a tentative list of Congressmen proposed for inclusion by Rep. Barney Frank (D-MA), are as follows:

#### <u>Senate</u>

Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
Chris Dodd (D-CT)
Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)
Tom Harkin (D-VT)
Pat Leahy (D-VT)
Dick Shelby (R-AL)
Bob Corker (R-TN)
Michael Crapo (R-ID)
Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)

#### House

Barney Frank (D-MA)
Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
Paul Kanjorski (D-PA)
Luis Gutierrez (D-IL)
Maxine Waters (D-CA)
Melvin Watt (D-NC)
Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
Dennis Moore (D-KS)

We will continue to monitor the progress of this legislation, and keep you informed of important developments.

If you have any questions about this Legal Alert, please feel free to contact the attorneys listed below or the Sutherland attorney with whom you regularly work.

James M. Cain202.383.0180james.cain@sutherland.comPaul B. Turner713.470.6105paul.turner@sutherland.comWarren N. Davis202.383.0133warren.davis@sutherland.com

© 2010 Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP. All Rights Reserved.

This communication is for general informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal advice or a recommended course of action in any given situation. This communication is not intended to be, and should not be, relied upon by the recipient in making decisions of a legal nature with respect to the issues discussed herein. The recipient is encouraged to consult independent counsel before making any decisions or taking any action concerning the matters in this communication. This communication does not create an attorney-client relationship between Sutherland and the recipient.

# SUTHERLAND

William H. Hope II	404.853.8103	william.hope@sutherland.com
Robin J. Powers	212.389.5067	robin.powers@sutherland.com
Mark D. Sherrill	202.383.0360	mark.sherrill@sutherland.com
Doyle Campbell	212.389.5073	doyle.campbell@sutherland.com
Richard E. Grant	202.383.0909	richard.grant@sutherland.com
Meltem F. Kodaman	202.383.0674	meltem.kodaman@sutherland.com